Barry Marshall and Mary

How to win a Nobel Prize

Thursday, 22 March 2018

A chance encounter between a Nobel Laureate and a precocious nine-year-old girl has led to a new work of creative nonfiction designed to inspire young scientists to win their own Nobel Prize.


UWA ranked among world's best universities

Thursday, 8 June 2017

The University of Western Australia has risen to become one of the world’s top 100 universities in the 2018 QS World University Rankings.


UWA Awards and Achievements - October 2016

Thursday, 3 November 2016

The University of Western Australia has a continual roll call of awards, scholarships and prizes presented to staff and students.

The Ever After of Ashwin Rao by Padma Viswanathan

UWA Publishing novel shortlisted for Canada's richest literary prize

Thursday, 6 November 2014

A new UWA Publishing novel, The Ever After of Ashwin Rao by Padma Viswanathan, has been shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, Canada's richest and most prestigious literary award.

The prize doubled in value this year, with $100,000 going to the winner and $10,000 to each finalist.

The Ever After of Ashwin Rao is Padma Viswanathan's second novel and was published by UWA Publishing last month, following its Canadian release by Random House Canada.

Mary-Anne Lowe and Fraser Stewart

Smart legacy in agriculture continues

Wednesday, 5 November 2014

Two science honours students at The University of Western Australia - one from Toodyay and the other from Bunbury - have achieved their goals of contributing to Australian agriculture having been awarded the Sir Eric Smart Scholarship for Agricultural Research through UWA's Institute of Agriculture.

Six Different Windows by Paul Hetherington

UWA Publishing book wins at WA Premier's Book Awards

Wednesday, 24 September 2014

UWA Publishing's poetry collection Six Different Windows by Paul Hetherington has won the 2014 Western Australian Premier's Book Award for Poetry.

Stella's Sea by Sally-Ann Jones, shortlisted in the WA Premier's Book Awards

Five UWA Publishing books shortlisted for Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards

Wednesday, 30 July 2014

Five UWA Publishing books - including the centenary history of UWA - have been shortlisted in the Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards, announced yesterday by State Library of Western Australia CEO and State Librarian, Margaret Allen.

UWA Publishing poetry book wins Mary Gilmore Award

Wednesday, 16 July 2014

UWA Publishing book Even in the Dark by Rose Lucas has won the Mary Gilmore award for poetry.

Dancers are Yilin Kong and Kenny Johnson, Photo by Dana Weeks

Ochre bridges the gap through dance

Wednesday, 2 July 2014

There is a lot of talk about ‘bridging the gap' between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians and usually it is in the context of addressing the imbalance in health and life-expectancy.

The Marriage Knot: Marriage and divorce in colonial Western Australia 1829-1900

UWA Publishing book by Penelope Hetherington wins Margaret Medcalf Award

Thursday, 19 June 2014

Former UWA Research Fellow in History, Penelope Hetherington, has won the 2014 Margaret Medcalf Award for her book, The Marriage Knot: Marriage & divorce in colonial Western Australia 1829–1900, in a ceremony held at the State Library of Western Australia on Wednesday 18 June.


Riding a Crocodile book cover

UWA Publishing author awarded Queen's Birthday Honour

Tuesday, 10 June 2014

UWA Publishing author and physician Professor Paul Komesaroff was named as a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List released yesterday.


UWA Publishing cookbook wins ‘Best in the World’ at Gourmand Awards 2014

Friday, 30 May 2014

A cookbook created by UWA Publishing has won ‘Best in the World' for the Italian category in the 2014 International Gourmand Awards, at a ceremony in Beijing on 20 May.

Saporito! is by Daniela Pirone and Stefania Muscara, who were semi-finalists on My Kitchen Rules in 2011.

UWA Publishing book shortlisted for VIC Premier's Literary Award

Friday, 29 November 2013

UWA Publishing book Gardens of Fire: an investigative memoir by Robert Kenny has been shortlisted for the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for Non-Fiction.

Gardens of Fire is Kenny's personal account of the Black Saturday bushfires in 2009, and an investigation of fire in history and mythology.

UWA Publishing book shortlisted for Queensland Literary Award

Wednesday, 21 August 2013

An Unknown Sky and other stories by Susan Midalia, published by UWA Publishing in 2012, has been shortlisted in the 2013 Queensland Literary Awards.

An Unknown Sky, which was also recently longlisted for the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award, is one of five books shortlisted for the coveted Steele Rudd Award for an Australian short story collection.

UWA Publishing wins coveted publishing grant for desert writing project

Thursday, 25 July 2013

UWA Publishing, with the Northern Territory Writers' Centre and the South Australia Writers' Centre, has been announced as the recipient of the Australia Council's Special Publishing Grant for their collaborative Desert Writing project, worth nearly $50,000.

The one-off annual grant is awarded to larger, innovative publishing projects that contribute to the development of Australian culture.

UWA Publishing books shortlisted for WA Premier’s Book Awards

Friday, 5 July 2013

UWA Publishing books Crimson Crop by Peter Rose and Guy Grey-Smith: Life Force by Andrew Gaynor have been shortlisted in the 2012 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards.

Crimson Crop, which was also recently shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award for Poetry, is shortlisted in the Poetry category, while Guy Grey-Smith is shortlisted in the category of WA History.

UWA Publishing book shortlisted for NSW Premier's Poetry Award

Friday, 12 April 2013

Ladylike by Kate Lilley has been shortlisted for the Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry in the 2013 NSW Premier's Literary Awards.

Ladylike is Perth-born Lilley's much awaited second volume of poetry, following her 2002 debut Versary.

It is one of six poetry collections shortlisted for the Kenneth Slessor Prize, which is worth $30,000.

UWA Publishing book longlisted for major international award

Tuesday, 9 April 2013

UWA Publishing book An Unknown Sky and other stories by Susan Midalia has been longlisted for the 2013 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award.

The Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award commemorates Irish writer Frank O'Connor, and is presented for a collection of short stories published in English anywhere in the world.

It is one of the world's largest literary prizes for short story collections and is worth €25,000 (A$31,311).

A feast of storytelling on offer at 2013 Perth Writers Festival

Thursday, 17 January 2013

Leading authors Margaret Atwood, Anna Funder, Jared Diamond, Ahdaf Soueif, Robert Dessaix, China Mieville and Lawrence Norfolk will join a host of national and international writers for readings, talks, debates, and workshops at next month's 2013 Perth Writers Festival at the University of Western Australia.

UWA Publishing book shortlisted for major international literary prize

Monday, 10 December 2012

UWA Publishing book The Walls of Delhi by Uday Prakash, translated by Jason Grunebaum, has been shortlisted for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2013.