Monday, 6 January 2020

The University of Western Australia has a continual roll call of awards, scholarships and prizes presented to staff and students.

To recognise these achievements, an article is published on the UWA news page on the website and in UWA Forward on the first week of every month. If you know of great awards or achievements across the University please email [email protected]

Name: Professor Paul Parizel, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences
Achievement: Professor Paul Parizel, Chair of Radiology at UWA and Royal Perth Hospital has recently returned from Lima, Peru, after being awarded an honorary membership of the Peruvian Society of Radiology at the International Course on Neuroradiology. Professor Parizel has a history of working in the region to promote the Peruvian radiological community.

Name: Dr Anthony Duckworth-Smith, School of Design, Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education
Achievement: AUDRC Research Fellow Anthony Duckworth-Smith and a team from AUDRC, City of Fremantle and Creating Communities have received the award for ‘Best Planning Ideas - Small Project’ at the Planning Institute of Australia 2019 WA Awards for Planning Excellence for their project “The Freo Alternative: big thinking about small housing.”

Name: UWA Raine Study, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences
Achievement: UWA’s Raine Study research initiative was presented with a Lotterywest cheque for $160,209 by The Hon. Alanna Clohesy MLC. The Lotterywest grant is to support and enhance access to research findings delivered by the Raine Study to improve health and well-being outcomes for the WA community.

Name: Dr Maria Ignatieva, School of Design, Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education
Achievement: Dr Maria Ignatieva has received the National Award in Landscape Architecture, awarded by the Association of Landscape Architects of Russia. The Russian National Award for Landscape Architecture was established in 2010 and recognises outstanding professional achievements and community service.

Name: Daniel Lightowler, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences
Achievement: Clinical Research Nurse Daniel Lightowler, from UWA’s Medical School, has been awarded a Service Medal of the Order of St John. The medal recognises his consistent and long voluntary service with the St John Ambulance Service since 2006.

Name: Jegatheva Jegathesan, Graduate Research School
Achievement: Jegatheva Jegathesan’s animated short-film ‘The Quiet’ has been selected to play at Flicketfest on Bondi Beach, an Academy Award Qualifying Festival which provides the opportunity for eligibility at the Oscars. The film, which focuses on mental health and the effects of dissociative amnesia, continues to receive awards and has been selected to play at 46 film festivals around the world.

Congratulations UWA staff and students.

Image caption: Left-right: Professor Peter Eastwood, Hon. Alanna Clohesey MLC, Ms Jan Stewart

Media references

Nicholas Smith (UWA Media Officer) +61 8 6488 1888


Awards and Prizes — Media Statements — University News
School of Population Health