Tuesday, 4 June 2019

Just in!

"How to Win a Nobel Prize" has been shortlist for a WA Premier's Book Award.

The Minister for Culture and the Arts, David Templeman announced the shortlist for the 2018 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards today.

The Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards aims to support, develop and recognise excellence in writing.

This year, there are four awards:

  • The Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer Award ($15,000) for the first published work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction, in any genre.
  • The Premier’s Prize for Writing for Children Award ($15,000) for a work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction written for children (0 to 12 years of age), in any genre.
  • The Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and YA Writing administered and presented by Magabala Books. ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books) for a new unpublished manuscript for a work of junior and young adult fiction, including graphic novels, by an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander.
  • The Western Australian Writer’s Fellowship ($60,000) designed to assist a Western Australian writer, of any genre, to develop their writing practice and give them the time to create new work.

The winners of the 2018 Premier’s Book Awards will be announced on Friday 26 July 2019 during the Disrupted Festival of Ideas at the State Library of Western Australia.

Keep your fingers crossed!

Media references


The Marshall Centre for Infectious Diseases Research and Training