Thursday, 6 December 2018

On Saturday 27 October, over 420 future maths stars came together at The University of Western Australia for the 2018 Western Australian Junior Mathematics Olympiad (WAJO). 110 teams of year 7, 8 and 9 students from 25 Perth schools competed to solve a range of mathematical problems and vie for over $2,000 worth of prizes. The number of students who attended the event was an impressive increase over 2017, representing the growing popularity of maths amongst Perth students.

Two satellite events were held in Bunbury and Karratha with over 80 students competing across 21 teams which represented 7 schools.

The Jack Bana Award for Excellence for most outstanding Year 9 team went to Perth Modern School (Micah Sinclair, Keith Wong, Sithum Somarathna and Lawrence Nheu).

The second placed Year 9 team was from Penrhos College (Haining (Heidi) Leow, Aleta Houden, Nahyun Kim and Harriet Jones).

The top Year 8 team was from Christ Church Grammar School (Joshua Chen, Krish Mall, Jin Shen Lim and Sean Morgan).

The Cheryl Praeger Prize for Excellence for the most outstanding Year 7 student was awarded to Tarun Inthunesan (Rossmoyne Senior High School).

The Year 8 prize was shared by Xiaoyu Chen (All Saints’ College), Joshua Chen (Christ Church Grammar School) and Thyler Cung (Willetton Senior High School).

The Year 9 prize was shared by two students from Perth Modern School - Keith Wong and Lawrence Nheu.

Other WAJO prize sponsors included Curtin University Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Mathematical Association of Western Australia, Edith Cowan University School of Science, Murdoch University School of Engineering and Information Technology, New Edition Bookshop, Data Analysis Australia and Department of Education Gifted and Talented Selection Unit.

Photos of the event are available on request.

Media references

Ben Robson (UWA Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences) (+61 8) 6488 7501


Awards and Prizes
Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences