Friday, 26 October 2018

Three researchers from The University of Western Australia are among 25 new Fellows with impressive track records in leadership and creating impact to be elected to the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering.

They include two researchers from the Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, Professor Eric May (Professor of Chemical Engineering/Chevron Chair in Gas Process Engineering) and Professor Philipp Watson (Shell Chair/ITRH Hub Director, UWA Oceans Institute).

Professor Eric May is a global leader in natural gas science and engineering, thermodynamics and metrology and has achieved enormous practical outcomes. “I’m honoured to have been elected an ATSE Fellow, and thrilled at the opportunities it presents. ATSE is a driver of the national agenda in in many areas such as Energy that are important to my work at UWA. I hope to help show how Australian natural gas can drive global prosperity while we transition to even cleaner fuels like hydrogen,” he said.

Professor Phillip Watson is a world-leading expert on offshore geotechnics, setting direction of technology and innovation for a Group of Eight university in consultation with industry leaders. “It’s a great privilege to be elected a Fellow of the academy, and have the opportunity to engage with leaders (and pioneers) in the field.  I’m passionate about realising value for industry from innovation – and working with peers in the ATSE will enable this” he said.

Academy President, Professor Hugh Bradlow, welcomed their election, saying the new Fellows strengthened the Academy’s aim of ensuring that Australia remained a world-leading technology economy.

“We’re motivated by what’s best for our nation’s future,” he said. “And we do that by bringing together the brightest minds in technology, engineering and science to offer impartial, evidence-based, and practical advice.”

Professor Eric May and Professor Philipp Watson will be formally welcomed into the Academy at its Annual Meeting in Melbourne on 23 November.

For full citations, visit the Academy website:

Media references

Hannah Carlisle (UWA Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences) (+61 8) 6488 5079


Awards and Prizes
Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences