Tuesday, 5 September 2017

The University of Western Australia has a continual roll call of awards, scholarships and prizes presented to staff and students.

To recognise these achievements, a monthly article is published on the UWA news page on the website and in UWA Forward on the first week of every month. If you know of any great awards or achievements across the University please email [email protected]

Awards and achievements

Name: Dr Fiona Mayne
Achievement: Dr Fiona Mayne is the recipient of the European Early Childhood Education Research Association (EECERA) Annual Student Research Award 2017. Dr Mayne was selected from a strong field of entrants for her research and development of the Interactive Nonfiction Narrative (INN) approach to enhancing research participation and development in young children. She was presented the prestigious award recently in Italy.

Name: UWA researcher Nikhilesh Bappoo
Achievement: UWA researcher Nikhilesh Bappoo have won first prize in the Mimics Innovation Award, Asia-Pacific Region, at the International Society of Biomechanics conference in Brisbane. The award recognises their cutting-edge work supported by Mimics (Materialise), a piece of medical engineering design software. Using Mimics software, Nikhilesh visualised the structure of placentae before modelling blood flow through vessels.

Name: Professor Tim Ingis
Achievement: Professor Tim Inglis from UWA’s School of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine has been announced a finalist in the WA Innovator of the Year program. Run by the Government of Western Australia the awards acknowledge and reward exceptional innovators in Western Australia who have developed an outstanding innovative product, technology or service. The achievement recognises Dr Inglis’s work in developing a screening test (Flow cytometer-assisted Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing) that quickly confirms antibiotic efficacy. The award winners will be announced at the program's awards ceremony on 1 November 2017.

Name: Dr Yu Suk Choi
Achievement: Dr Yu Suk Choi from UWA’s School of Human Sciences has been awarded The Patricia New Future Leader Fellowship award at the Heart Foundation WA 2017 Research Awards. The award recognises his work in stem cell research in exploring whether raising stem cells in an environment that mimics biophysical properties of heart tissue has a greater potential for success at heart muscle cell generation.

Name: Dr Suvi Honkanen and Dr Brendan Kidd
Achievement: UWA scientists Dr Suvi Honkanen and Dr Brendan Kidd were recently awarded fellowships as part of CSIRO’s new Synthetic Biology Future Science Platform , to assist them in designing better ways to control plant functions using novel synthetic regulatory elements. If successful, the technology they develop could be applied to more efficient production of valuable plant metabolites, such as vitamins and pharmaceuticals or plant biomass for fibres and energy.

Congratulations to UWA staff and students.

Media references

Jess Reid (UWA Media and Public Relations Advisor)(+61 8) 6488 6876


Awards and Prizes — International — Media Statements — Research — Science — University News