Friday, 11 September 2015

The UWA Research Awards and Honours 2015 recipients was announced at a ceremony during UWA Research Week.

The standard again, confirms the high calibre of our researchers and I would like to congratulate the successful winners.

Successful Award Recipients for each category are:

The Vice-Chancellor’s Early Career Investigators Award

Dr Bruno Buzatto – Centre for Evolutionary Biology

Dr Barry Doyle – School of Mechanical and Chemical Engineering

Dr Maxim Goryachev – School of Physics

Dr Ben Jackson – School of Sport Science, Exercise and Health

Dr Ian Li – School of Population Health

Dr Peter Metaxas – School of Physics

Dr Katrina O’Loughlin – ARC Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions

Dr Sanjit Roy – UWA Business School

Dr Thomas Snelling – Telethon Kids Institute

Dr Kimberley Wang – Telethon Kids Institute

The Vice-Chancellor’s Mid-Career Research Award

Dr John Bamberg – Centre Mathematics of Symmetry and Computation

Professor Vaille Dawson – Faculty of Education

Dr Matt Hipsey – School of Earth and Environment

Dr Shazzad Hossain – Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems

Dr Brendan Kennedy – School of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering

Dr Joshua Mylne – ARC Centre of Excellence Plant Energy Biology

Assoc/Professor Kevin Pfleger – Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research

Assoc/Professor Jane Pillow – Centre for Neonatal Research and Education

Dr Keith Stubbs – School of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr Olivier van Aken – ARC Centre of Excellence Plant Energy Biology

Assoc/Professor Vincent Wallace – School of Physics

Professor Andrew Whitehouse – Telethon Kids Institute

The Vice-Chancellor’s Senior Research Award

Professor Jenefer Blackwell – Telethon Kids Institute

Professor Mariapia Degli-Esposti – Centre for Ophthalmology and Visual Science

Assoc/Professor Mikhail Kostylev – School of Physics

Professor Karol Miller – School of Mechanical and Chemical Engineering

Professor Paul Plummer – Centre for Regional Development

Professor David Sampson – Centre for Microscopy, Characterisation and Analysis

Professor Christobel Saunders – School of Surgery

Professor Robert White – English and Cultural Studies

The Vice-Chancellor’s Award in Research Mentorship

Prof David Pannell – School of Agricultural and Resource Economics

The Vice-Chancellor’s Award in Impact and Innovation

The Geodata Algorithms Team – Centre for Exploration Targeting

(A/Prof Eun-Jung Holden, Dr Daniel Wedge, Dr Jason Wong, Adj Prof Peter Kovesi, Prof Mike Dentith, Mr Tom Horrocks, Mr David Nathan)

3Rs Animal Ethics Award

Professor Shaun Collin – Neuroecology Group

Caroline Kerry – Oceans Institute

Lucille Chapuis – Animal Biology

Start Something Entrepreneurship Award

Jonathan Lilley – UWA Engineering Team, Bloom Laboratory

Jo Hawkins – Arts Faculty

CSA Global Award for Entrepreneurship

Ghulam Hassan – Faculty of Engineering, Computing and Mathematics


UWA Forward