Thursday, 19 January 2012

The Centre for Aboriginal Medical and Dental Health (CAMDH) and its staff have added to their growing list of awards.

CAMDH Director Winthrop Professor Helen Milroy, a Faculty medical graduate and the first Indigenous psychiatrist in Australia, has been acknowledged again internationally with two awards.

She was a conjoint winner of the 2011 World Council for Psychotherapy’s Sigmund Freud Award, which recognises the life work of individuals and groups who have made original contributions to the field. She was one of the group of the first Indigenous people to receive the award.

Professor Milroy was also named the 2011 Yachad Scholar, awarded by the National Australia Bank Women’s International Zionist Organisation. And last month, CAMDH Senior Lecturer Dr David Paul was awarded the 2011 LIMELight Award for Leadership in Indigenous Medical Education (awarded to an individual).

In 2007, he was a joint winner of a LIMELight Award for Leading Innovation in Cultural and Organisational Change and the same year CAMDH won the Leading Innovation in Indigenous Student Recruitment Support and Graduation category. In 2009, Professor Milroy won the LIMElight Award for National Leadership in Indigenous Medical Education and CAMDH won the Leading Innovation in Curriculum Implementation category. In 2008, Professor Milroy was the recipient of the Suicide Prevention Australia Award, Indigenous Category.

CAMDH also took off the Premier’s Award, WA, for People and Communities: Education and Skills Development in 2005.

Media references

Debra Pope (Centre for Aboriginal Medical and Dental Health (CAMDH)) (+61 8) 6488 1917

Published in December 2012 edition of Medefacts.


Awards and Prizes
Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences