Wednesday, 3 March 2010

More than 2,000 graduands will receive bachelor degrees, diplomas, Masters and higher degrees in nine ceremonies over three weeks at The University of Western Australia's Winthrop Hall from Tuesday March 9 to Thursday March 25.

The following people will receive honorary degrees:

  • Emeritus Professor David Groves (Doctor of Science).  UWA Emeritus Professor Groves recently won the prestigious Penrose Gold Medal, awarded by the US-based Society of Economic Geologists for his outstanding contribution to earth sciences;
  • Emeritus Professor Margaret Seares AO (Doctor of Letters).  UWA Emeritus Professor Seares, former Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University.  In addition to membership of the Australia Council, she was a Director of the Australia Business Arts Foundation;
  • Professor Anne Dell CBE (Doctor of Science).  UWA organic chemistry graduate Professor Dell is Professor of Carbohydrate Biology at Imperial College London;
  • Professor Sylvester James (Jim) Gates (Doctor of Science).  American theoretical physicist Professor Gates serves on President Barack Obama's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology.  He is the first African-American to be awarded an endowed Chair in Physics in a major US University.  He has previously visited UWA to work with the Supersymmetric Quantum Field Theory Group and lectures regularly through UWA's Institute of Advanced Studies;
  • Professor Stephen Hopper (Doctor of Science).  UWA botany graduate Professor Hopper is Director of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, England;
  • The Honourable Frederick (Fred) Chaney AO (Doctor of Letters).  UWA law graduate, Fred Chaney is a former WA Senator and Federal Minister for Aboriginal Affairs who was appointed as Officer of the Order of Australia for his contribution to the establishment of the Australian Native Title Tribunal;
  • Emeritus Professor Barry Ninham (Doctor of Science).  UWA science graduate Emeritus Professor Ninham is founder and head of the Department of Applied Mathematics at the Australian National University; and
  • Professor Garth Illingworth (Doctor of Science).  UWA science graduate Professor Illingworth is based at the University of California's Lick Observatory and chairs a committee that offers advice to Congress on the implementation of the astronomy community's science program.

UWA staff Mr Lance Maschmedt (senior Physics teaching technician), Mrs Kerry Smith (Director of Programs, School of Sport Science, Exercise and Health) and Adjunct Associate Professor Suzanne Baker (School of Animal Biology) will be awarded Chancellor's Medals.

Media references

Sally-Ann Jones (UWA Public Affairs) (+61 8)  6488  7975  /  (+61 4) 20 790 098


Alumni — Arts and Culture — Awards and Prizes — Business and Industry — Events — International — Media Statements — Research — Teaching and Learning — University News