Sharon Parker

Ground-breaking work design researcher wins ARC Laureate Fellowship

Friday, 6 May 2016

Pioneering research on the changing nature of ‘work’ has resulted in an Australian Laureate Fellowship being awarded to the University of Western Australia.

What would the world be like without teachers? 2016 Open Day Competition

2016 Open Day Competitions

Wednesday, 13 July 2016

To celebrate its Centenary, The Faculty of Education is hosting two competitions as part of UWA Open Day. In recognition of teachers and the work they do we are asking primary and secondary schools in Western Australia to tell us what they think the world would be like without teachers.  We also reflect on the past, present and future by inviting Faculty alumni, students, staff to share a photo that of their time at the Faculty. These photos will be pinned up on our display board during Open Day.

Details on how to enter these competitions are as follows:

Professor David Andrich receiving the Benjamin Drake Wright Senior Scholar Award

Professor David Andrich receives Benjamin Drake Wright Senior Scholar Award

Tuesday, 5 July 2016

Professor Professor David Andrich, who holds the Chapple Chair in the Graduate School of Education, was awarded the Benjamin Drake Wright Senior Scholar Award by the Rasch Measurement Special Interest Group (SIG) of the American Educational Research Association, taking home $1000US and a plaque.

NAIDOC Week to celebrate Indigenous achievements

Monday, 4 July 2016

A postgraduate student who came to The University of Western Australia as part of an Aboriginal Orientation Course in 2001 has been named this year’s NAIDOC (National Aboriginal and Islander Day Observance Committee) Scholar of the Year for Western Australia.

Dr Louise Barton receives 2016 PLA research award_Photo Credit PLAWA

UWA Turf Water Allocation Project scores outstanding research award

Wednesday, 29 June 2016

Pioneering research into understanding how to best manage green spaces using limited water allocations has been acknowledged for outstanding research achievement at the 2016 Parks and Leisure Australia WA Awards.

The 2016 Research Award went to The University of Western Australia’s Water Allocation Project within the UWA Turf Research Program, led by Dr Louise Barton and Professor Tim Colmer from UWA’s School of Plant Biology and Institute of Agriculture.


When one painting is not like another…

Monday, 27 June 2016

Tom Simpson never quite understood why, as a young child, he was dragged to endless art galleries. But years later, the UWA Business School PhD candidate has developed a new appreciation for art—and is even developing a new way to value collectable art pieces.

Brain Bee finalists

St Hilda's student wins WA's Brain Bee Challenge

Monday, 27 June 2016

Mosman Park student Tatiana Kurniawan will represent Western Australia at the Australian Brain Bee Challenge national final to be held in Hobart in December after outsmarting 82 fellow Year 10 students in today’s State final held at The University of Western Australia.

Fulbright Scholarship recipients

Researchers from UWA awarded Fulbright Scholarships

Monday, 27 June 2016

Two PhD students and a postdoctoral research fellow from The University of Western Australia have received prestigious Fulbright Scholarships for 2016.

Receiving the Order of Madagascar

Two West Australians awarded the Order of Madagascar

Wednesday, 22 June 2016

Perth based charity, Australian Doctors for Africa (ADFA) today announced that two distinguished West Australian gastroenterologists associated with the charity have been honoured for their contribution to public health services in Madagascar following a Conference which convened Research Specialists, Specialist Physicians and NGO’s to discuss the heavy burden of Helicobacter pylori related disease, Schistosomiasis and other Gastro-intestinal diseases in Madagascar.

Susan Penter Master of Teaching Graduate and Award Recipient

Celebrating Strengths in this Centenary Year - Prize Giving

Thursday, 16 June 2016

Wintry conditions didn’t deter over 130 students, family, friends and supporters from attending the Faculty of Education’s annual Prize Giving Ceremony held at the University Club on 7 June 2016 to celebrate the achievements of UWA education students.

In the Faculty’s Centenary year, 23 scholarships and 20 prizes were awarded to students in recognition of their work, dedication and contribution to the education sector.