guan tor lim receiving award

COFS Visiting Researcher wins the 21st Annual GFWA Prize in Geomechanics

Thursday, 10 October 2013

COFS Visiting Researcher Mr Guan Tor Lim was the winner of the 21st Annual GFWA Prize in Geomechanics for Final Year Undergraduate Projects.

Martin Fahey

Martin Fahey Visitng Fellowships now available

Thursday, 1 August 2013

The Martin Fahey Visiting Fellowship has been established by COFS to honour the contribution made by Professor Martin Fahey in the establishment and success of the UWA Geotechnical Testing Laboratory, the Geomechanics Group and COFS.

Shazzad Hossain

COFS researcher wins UWA Young Investigator Award

Thursday, 11 July 2013

COFS Associate Professor Shazzad Hossain recently received a 2012 Young Investigator Award.

Winthrop Professor Mark Cassidy

Prestigious fellowship for oil and gas expert

Tuesday, 9 July 2013

A leading researcher whose work has helped make offshore oil and gas platforms more stable and safer has been awarded Australia's most prestigious research fellowship.

Winning UWA researchers

UWA breakthroughs lead undersea LNG Pipeline Innovation

Thursday, 4 July 2013

Revolutionary O-Tube and Remote Survey technology developed by scientists at The University of Western Australia claimed two prizes at the Australian Gas Technology (AGT) Awards held in Perth this week.

Professor David White

New Shell EMI Chair to strengthen offshore petroleum research

Monday, 3 December 2012

Oceans engineer Professor David White from The University of Western Australia has been appointed new Shell EMI Professorial Chair in Offshore Engineering to strengthen world-class research and education in WA's offshore petroleum industry.

Professors White (left) and Cheng with O-Tube team (rear)

World-class cyclone simulator wins engineering award

Friday, 21 September 2012

A world-class research facility that aims to protect thousand of kilometres of underwater oil and gas pipelines worth billions of dollars from destructive cyclones has won a major award for a team of engineers at The University of Western Australia.

Large O Tube

The Large O Tube wins the Innovation and Development category of the 2012 WA Engineering Excellence Awards

Wednesday, 19 September 2012

The School of Civil and Resource Engineering and COFS Large O Tube Flume was announced as the winner of the Innovation and Development category of the 2012 WA Engineering Excellence Awards.

The Lloyd's Register Educational Trust Oration, Australia

Thursday, 13 September 2012

Winthrop Professor Mark Randolph will be presenting the inaugral The Lloyd's Register Educational Trust Oration. 

Bassem Youssef with AGT commendation award

COFS PhD student receives an Australian Gas Innovation Award commendation

Tuesday, 14 August 2012

Congratulations to Bassem Youssef who recently received the Australian Gas Innovation Award Commendation.  He was recognised for his unique pipeline on-bottom stability simulation program, developed as part of his PhD study. 

Mark Cassidy

COFS Director announced as next E.H. Davis Lecturer

Tuesday, 31 July 2012

Winthrop Professor Mark Cassidy was recently announced as the next E.H. Davis Lecturer. 

O Tube Research Group

Large O-Tube Research Group receives Subsea Energy Australia award

Tuesday, 12 June 2012

The School of Civil & Resource Engineering and COFS Large O-Tube Research Group was awarded the Industry Innovation and Technology award, by Subsea Energy Australia.

Professor David White

BGA Medal awarded to COFS Professorial Fellow

Tuesday, 12 June 2012

Professor David White has been awarded the British Geotechnical Association (BGA) Medal for his paper, co-authored with Dr Johnny Cheuk (a former visitor to COFS, now with AECOM, Hong Kong).

Mark Cassidy, Britta Bienen and Christophe Gaudin

Geotechnical Research Medal awarded to COFS researchers

Tuesday, 22 May 2012

Professor Christophe Gaudin, Associate Professor Britta Bienen and Winthrop Professor Mark Cassidy have been awarded the Geotechnical Research Medal, by the Institution of Civil Engineers, for their paper:

Shazzad Hossain receiving the ASCE CE best paper award at OTC 2012

ASCE Civil Engineering best paper award, OTC 2012

Thursday, 17 May 2012

ARC Postdoctoral Fellow Assistant Professor Shazzad Hossain, ARC Future Fellow Professor Mark Cassidy and their co-authors were awared the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Best Civil Engineering Paper Award at Houston's annual Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) for 2012. 

Mark Randolph

COFS Winthrop Professor awarded ARC DORA

Wednesday, 2 May 2012

Winthrop Professor Mark Randolph received the ARC Discovery Outstanding Researcher Award (DORA) as part of his successful application for a Discovery Project Grant.

yinghui tian

Congratulations to Tian on his promotion to Research Assistant Professor

Wednesday, 2 May 2012

Yinghui Tian was recently promoted to Research Assistant Professor. After graduating from his Bachelor Degree (Dalian University of Technolgy, China), Tian worked at the CCCC First Harbour Consultants Ltd.  He achieved his PhD in Geotechnical Engineeirng at Tianjin University in 2007.  He first came to COFS as an Academic Visitor and joined the team as a Research Associate in June 2007.


COFS researchers recognised with federal ASCRF grant

Tuesday, 3 April 2012

Assistant Professor Shazzad Hossain, Professor Yuxia Hu and W/Professor Mark Randolph from UWA’s Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems (COFS) and School of Civil and Resource Engineering have just been awarded a significant grant as part of the Australia-China Science and Research Fund (ASCRF).

Beam centrifuge at UWA Centre for Offshore Foundation Systems

Korean oil and gas specialists meet UWA experts

Tuesday, 14 February 2012

Sophisticated equipment and high-level expertise at The University of Western Australia are helping to build strong ties with our Korean neighbours who recently visited UWA to build on their knowledge of developments in the oil and gas industry.

Professor David White (left) and Winthrop Professor Mark Randolph

UWA oceans engineer named Early Career Scientist of the Year

Friday, 9 December 2011

Professor David White of The UWA Oceans Institute has been named Early Career Scientist of the Year for Western Australia.